Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Slimbridge sightings: Green Sandpiper and friends

This morning was very frustrating - the annual "model" show is on at the leisure centre and each year they take over more and more.  This year two of the three carparks have been occupied by caravans and food stalls, and then the remaining car park has been taken over by the exhibitors cars.  I got there at 08:40 and it was over half full, when I came out at 09:30 there were just two spaces left and then I couldn't get out of the car park because the desperate show goers wouldn't even let me pull out of my parking space.  I was not amused as I didn't get back in time to take Mr T to his retinopathy appointment.

Then we went off to Tortworth for lunch, which was very nice!  Although some muppet missed the motorway turn and then just decided to do a random U turn.  It proved the safety systems in the car work as the whole display flashed up BRAKE!  Thankfully I already had my eye on him as he had already changed his mind once about getting on the motorway.  So stuffed from lunch we set off to Slimbridge.

We went to some different hides today as I had seen on the Slimbridge sightings twitter feed that there were some migrants on the Tack Piece.  A very nice gentleman with his spotting scope showed me the birds.  My main Blip is a green sandpiper, and in my extra is either a chiff chaff or willow warbler (top right) (I can't decide as it seems to have the pink legs of a willow warbler but the white crescent under it's eye of a chiff chaff!), a lapwing and wood sandpiper (bottom right), flamingos feeding (bottom left) baby moorhen and chiff chaff/willow warbler (centre) and geese coming into land for the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.