Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Newlands Corner

This is not quite a Flower Friday blip. (I've got to try to take part in these challenges while I can!)

Today has been quite a day and one in which I experienced exceptional customer service twice! First was from amazon.com (again). I had bought an 8GB microSD card to put in Margaret's phone as she needed her memory extended. Then rachelwhynot gave me a spare card she had, so the Amazon one was surplus to requirement.

I went online to start the process to return it only to find out that it was an item that couldn't be returned (!) so I got in touch with their customer service via live chat, and after I answered why I wanted to return it, the agent typed out that in this instance, it was easier if I just kept the item and they would refund me! I really didn't know what to say.

Next... I put a load in the machine and surprise - it wasn't raining when I went to collect it! Hooray! Actually that happened on Wednesday too, but I forgot to mention it. G wanted an out to Dorking, but I wanted to do another Facebook post for our new venture, so we spent some time working on that. We have got 100 FB Likes for the page which is the first milestone, so a pre-chilled bottle of Prosecco was opened to celebrate!

It then started to rain, so we had the idea of putting the second load in the park launderette to dry while we went to Newlands Corner to view the storm from there. The heavy rain stopped by the time we got there, so we just enjoyed the views. G reminded me of the orange engine light that came on yesterday when I turned off the M1 to the M25, so I decided I'd better tackle that.

Over 40 minutes and I don't know how many places I called (this was the rubbish customer service bit where I got handed from Europcar to the RAC and then AA), I finally spoke to the "right" person and explained the problem. She said someone would be in touch with me within 40 minutes to arrange to come out.

Well, we hardly got back home, that the AA man arrived to look at the problem. It was just as I expected. Nothing major - just a malfunctioning switch. He ran a diagnostic (very hi-tech) and made the light disappear. 

Now catching up with blips and blipping and watching a programme on TV about 60s psychedelia which is making me really glad that growing up in Dubai, I listened to music and just took it at that!

Awful to hear of the attacks in Spain and Finland and of Bruce Forsyth's passing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.