Images from flowerspasms

By flowerspasms

Oh (dear) the olden days!

Have been strolling down some lesser trodden streets of my Swiss home town and came across boxes of old 45's. Having a bit of a rummage I came across many from
Petula Clarke (!) who sang in both French and German didn't you know, and this lot for today's blip.

It never ceases to amaze me what we used to think was acceptable 'back then'. And it makes me laugh. It's like watching Roger Moore as Bond, too funny for words! For example, take Jacques Dutronc. The bubble says 'I love girls (if your like that, call me!)' and then some of the songs are entitled: I' don't need anymore idols', 'the classifieds' - oh er missus! - and my favorite, which is a play on 'been there done that' actually translates into 'I've read everythg, seen everythg, drunk everythg'. Classic!

Then there is Henri SalVador, whose record I think must be called '007 - La pipe', which I can only imagine is about the secret agent and his tobacco pipe, and nothing at all to do with 'la pipe' which in French slang refers to a sexual act!

Let's not overlook Jacques Bodoin's cover which looks very disturbing and is called '1st year course in seduction - the Americans and women'. Nuff said!

And just for good measure, I couldn't resist the cover with the kitty. Too kitsch for words.

Besides finding these funny ones, I did actually get some Piaf, a couple of decent (as in not scratched) Boney M, the last record done by Otis Redding before his death and one that I have no idea about, but it's entitled Bangladesh (where my Dad is from) and l'Italiano - because it's an Italian classic and I'm also from there too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.