Houblon

By Houblon

Vulture Culture

Great show at the Volerie des Aigles. They really fly the birds close to you and if the handler is standing behind you when one of the big birds flies to his glove you better be prepared to duck.  

Still getting to grips with the X-T2. I don't have a long lens for it yet just the 18-55mm which I guess is about 24-80mm in 35mm equivalent.  So frustrating I couldn't get zoomed in close like I can with the 70-200 on the 5D.  The frame rate is pretty quick but it takes a bit of getting used to looking through the EVF when each shot kind of freezes as it takes. Hard work when panning following the birds. I guess I kind of expected, with this camera being a good 5 years newer than my last, the autofocus would magically capture everything beautifully sharp - but no - I've got some useable action shots but a lot where it missed the bird - typically choosing the background to focus on,  I guess I can play with the settings a bit - but I suspect I'll be back to the old strategy of choosing a central focus point and trying to keep the birds in the centre of the frame.

Anyway thus guy was not moving anywhere.  Extra is of an Eagle in flight 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.