fotoday

By fotoday

the eyes have it

I am missing the spare time to do wildlife photography lately but that was put right with an evening trip up to the reservoir hide. The first hour saw just garden birds and was becoming monotonous then L whispered whats this whilst looking behind the feeders. We were treated to watching the sparrowhawk for the next hour. I've never been so close to one before. She flew to the ground and hid waiting for small birds on the feeders. I was hard to see her behind the bush but at this point she let me know she knew I was watching. She hung around moved position but didn't bother the small birds as they slowly returned not knowing she was still there.

I chose this photo because it was not only that brief moment that she was saying I know you know, so be quiet, but it also shows how the eye in the light is dilated more that the one in the shade. Her eyesight is sharper than mine for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.