twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A day of cycling; 80km all in.

I took them to school and straight from that I put my head down and battered into a stiff headwind out along the shore to Crammond; then followed the ring road around my peripherique route until I was back along at Seafield and as the rain started to fall I dived in to McDs for a coffee and shelter.

With impetus lost, I rummaged around on Marine Drive for a bit before going to pick Tom up from school. We'd planned to do a few miles on the bike ahead of Pedal for Scotland. After a quick lunch we hit the cycle path and - again - into the teeth of a gale we headed off - eventually ending up at Hermiston Gait. 
Suitably fortified by a doughnut, we turned and took advantage of the breeze and sped home.

Until.
As we rejoined the cycle path at Rosebirn, his derailer arm got snarled in the spokes of the wheel and that was that; all twisted and done. 3 and a half miles from home, I gave him a shove and then jumped on my bije and rode alongside him; hand on his saddle and shoved him pretty much all the way home. I figured I'd be as well to drop the bike at the bike shop and get it in for repairs. Still, we made good time; only had to stop once and gave me a work out.

Then to hers. Whilst we were out, she text to say G had arranged to stay with a friend; could I bring a toothbrush as well dinner? So off I went; did pork with honey and mustard and then the rest of the blackberry and apple crumble. And some crap TV.  T'were good to get a quiet evening in together. 

Tom heads back into town; castle on the skyline

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.