Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Gannet Surprise

I was at the estuary watching what I thought was a tern diving when I began to realise that  it was a different silhouette and a much bigger splash.

This is the first time I have seen a gannet in and around the estuary and could hardly wait to get home and see what I had got. As usual, the bird was fairly distant so many of the pics were fuzzy and to tell the truth, so are the ones I am blipping. However, they are the best of the bunch.

There are some more in the extras - I was torn which to feature as the main blip. The final extra is very fuzzy but, it shows that classic gannet shape in a dive. You wouldnt believe the splash it made - they are hefty birds.

Tomorrow I fly to Napier for a 9 day stay with daughter and grandchildren. Not sure how much blipping and commenting will get done but with good intentions, I am taking the camera and the laptop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.