Sliding Into Second

I started the morning by completing an online learning course about child protection. Depressing stuff but, unfortunately, very important. I then went for a ten kilometers run. One week between runs is not good enough. I must maintain my running when I return to work.

This afternoon I enjoyed two high-school baseball games at Koshien Stadium. The first game, between Kohryo and Sendai Ikue was really exciting. Both teams played incredibly well but Kohryo were simply better at capitalising on chances, as Kohryo's fifteen to Sendai's eleven hits clearly shows. I would like to see Kohryo in the final.

The second game between Hanasaki Tokue and Morioka Ootsuki. By the fifth inning, Hanasaki was ahead by seven points to one. I watched the game until the end because I was hoping to see Morioka perform a miracle and at least narrow the gap but, unfortunately, Hanasaki were just too strong. Morioka played very well but, just like Sendai in the first game, they just were not so good at capitalising on the chances they set up several times. Kudos to Hanasaki, they played an incredible game, as the three points they scored in the ninth inning, even when they were seven to one ahead, clearly proves. I would also be happy to see Hanasaki in the final against Kohryo.

Today's blip is of a Kohryo player doing something incredible. He hit a bunt, clearly intending to sacrifice himself so that the player on third base could get home. However, not only was he not caught out before managing to reach first base, he actually managed to slide into second while also enabling his team mate to get home and score one point. Fantastic play!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.