The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

My Favorite Season

I live in a small town in Northern New Jersey. Glen Rock is known for it's large rock, John's Boy Pizza, and more banks and salons per 2-block radius than anywhere U.S.A.!

A few years ago, the Boro decided to put in fancy light posts and brick paver crosswalks, as well as huge flower planters, all along the downtown area. The banners came as a way to celebrate the seasons, and promote Community Spirit.

Today was a clear, crisp one, with temperatures cool enough for sweaters and jackets.

I snapped this photo as I was going to one of the many local banks, and wondered if we really needed one of these banners displayed every 20 feet?

Does anyone really notice or care? Do you think that 20 of these in a small area really promote shopping "Local?" I may love where I live, but sometimes, I think that towns do this to gloss over the empty storefronts and obvious lack of people shopping "Downtown."

Yes my friends, New Jersey is more than "The Shore."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.