Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Fishy Encounter

Whilst abroad, we met up with a uni friend in Palamós, an hour drive from where we were staying.  We did this for a couple of days in a row as he had spent a lot if time here as a kid and beyond, and knew it well.  He had flown back from the US the night before and flown straight out to Spain so we could hook up.


On the first day we walked along the coast, stopping off at little bays for dips in the sea where he gave the girls some advice on snorkelling.  Jnr Jnr thought it was the best thing ever.


The following day he hired a boat and we went north up the coast to a bay where we all had to swim in to get to a restaurant.  Easy for everyone else as they could swim, took me a while as I had to use a woggle :)


It was very choppy getting there and back, not a huge problem (although I think Jnr Snr and myself were about 10 mins off of seasickness), but the wind delayed us getting back which led to a shouty reception back at the harbour.  It flew like I was riding the waves for about the next 48 hours afterwards.....landlubber me!


On the first day, we went to the centre of town for some food, and he wanted to show us the local fish market first and I am so glad he did!  As I did not have my DSLR it annoyed me, as it is as it is the sort of location that I could have spent hours in.  The sights, sounds, smells were out of this world.  I was also gutted that I could realistically buy anything and get it home in time to cook fresh.  There were thing there I had never seen before and so much I wanted to try.  Maybe a good thing, it would have maxed out my credit card.


One weird thing occurred on the way back from our coastal walk: we were just getting back to where the car was and we bumped into a guy we were both at uni with!!!!  A random occurrence given that it was about 1000 miles from home in a different country, I had not seen him since about 2004.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.