Osireion

By Osireion

Hat Yai

Its been a while since I last uploaded a picture on here. Since my last update we've travelled on a 19 hour train journey from Bangkok down to Hat Yai in the South of Thailand. Thankfully we paid the little bit extra for our tickets and got first class, which basically means we got our own cabin with fold out beds (definitely what you want on an overnight train journey).

The last few days we've made a home of Hat Yai. A few of our friends live here so we've been able to meet up with them and get to know the city a little bit better (and its always nice to have someone with you who knows what they're doing). Surprisingly, the heat in Hat Yai is a lot easier to cope with than it as in Bangkok, I'm not entirely sure why, perhaps we're finally getting used to it, who knows. It's taken a wee but I've finally managed to get a bit of sunburn as well. Stupid me went swimming without putting sun lotion on first and now the back of my neck (where else!) and my shoulders are burnt. I've been applying after-sun and it is looking a lot better already thankfully.

Our friend Nicola took us to have our very first Thai massage the other day, and boy was that an experience! I can honestly say the lady giving me the massage found new areas of pain I didn't even know existed. Though saying that (and like everyone else has told us too for that matter) its a 'good' type of pain, like you know you're going to feel better afterwards.

After the massage we were introduced to one of Nicola's local Thai friends, who just so happens to be a tattoo artist, and a very good one at that! As such, we've both asked him to design a tattoo for us each. Well I say both of us, Samantha has already asked him, me being the indecisive person that I am have needed a few extra days to decide what it is I actually want to get. And I've finally narrowed it down to two possible designs, which I'll show him later today. Whatever I end up getting, I hope to get it done for my birthday (which is next week by the way :P)

Now onto the picture, it was taken from the top of a mountainy type hill where a giant golden Buddha statue stands. Though I did take a few pictures of the Buddha, I preferred this picture; I'm not entirely sure why, but I really like the sky in it so there you go, I hope you like it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.