Whale of a Time

This summer has been a bumper season for orca sightings around Shetland.  Unfortunately I've not been spending nearly enough time there recently - so when I've seen social media alerts about orca I've been a little bit frustrated.

But not today. I'd spent the morning at Sumburgh Head and had headed off to get ready to fly south, when my phone started buzzing.  I was being summoned back to Sumburgh and arrived just as two orca powered their way down the east coast of Shetland.  :-)

Update: This particularly orca is known as Knott (he's got distinctive scarring on the white patch behind his dorsal fin).  He's regularly around Icelandic waters but has also been seen around the Pentland Firth, Caithness and Fair Isle this summer.

4624

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.