Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Crescent Sun

The Solar Eclipse was the talk of the town and the nation today as it spread darkness from coast to coast.  In the Washington, DC area, the moon blocked out about 81% of the sun at it's peak (2:42 PM Eastern). 

This photo was taken at 2:40 PM (the last photo I got before my camera battery died).   In order to get this exposure, I set the ISO to 50, aperture to F32 and shutter at 1/18000th of a second.  

BTW - Before I started taking pictures, I put electrical tape over the view finder to ensure that I didn't accidentally go out of live view mode and burn my retina's up.  

This Blip was by far one of the biggest pains to get (aiming at the sun without actually looking at it and going in manual focus mode) but will certainly be one of the most memorable.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.