Views from the Edge

By ElviraTSquirrel

book binding

Dtr and I spent the day at a bookbinding workshop tutored by Hamish Macdonald. It was a brilliant day....aided by Ruan's pineapple cake and our brownies.

Everyone had a fantastic time, we made a hardbacked book and a soft cover one...the hardback, I'm hoping, will actually get used...I have a habit of getting nice notebooks and not using them. I figure if I make another one I'll use them. (the softback has a collection of my favourite poems in it)

What is brilliant is that Hamish is a writer and makes things to be used, and you can use all sorts of cardboard scraps (I'll never look at a cereal box in the same way again). You can even order his bookbinding course in booklet form from his website with a nice little clamp to hold your project in place.

I love taking the day out to learn new things...and although Ive done bookbinding before this was a nice refresher...and Im going to try to make some books rather than forgetting how to do it! (that little booklet is worth its weight in gold)

By the way...this photo was taken by darling daughter....her books were fab :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.