Birders

I'm having a quick trip over to see my sister and Heidi today.  Whilst taking Little Dog out for a stroll around the cliff tops, I met these super-friendly guys birding and had to ask what they were looking at.  

They'd been there since this morning (and it was now about 5pm), gradually adding more layers as the day went on.  They were watching the birds which have started their migration route and had seen great skuas; arctic skuas heading to the southern ocean (which will take them a few months, I think he said); as well as manx and sooty shearwaters (if I remember correctly).

They shared lots of info and chatted for ages so I hope they didn't miss anything! 

Heidi had band practice but Rachel had ducked out to chat with me so we sat upstairs watching the sea from the window and listening to Heidi and Phil play.

I've since set the moth trap up with my sister (who did warn me that she'd seen lots of them).  We took a look an hour or so later and the place was buzzing.  I had to carefully extract a large yellow underwing from up my sleeve before going back into the house - think he was getting a little too snug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.