Dancersend

By Dancersend

August into autumn!

The man at the filling station said "Real autumn morning, isn't it?". True, it was overcast and misty and I could see what he meant, but I was on the way to the nature reserve to walk my butterfly transects and it was still August! When I got to the reserve I had to agree with him - it was muggy, misty and dull and the vegetation was dripping - it didn't look as though any sun would break through. I decided to check the network of paths and signs in one of the woodland blocks and was very soon finding a wonderful array of fungi. There were even lots of death-caps and Mycena croccata - two of the regulars that I look for in October! It certainly provided some interest on a day when butterflies were thin on the ground, but I hope summer returns for a little longer.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.