Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Faded

My name is John and I'm a Snapper, not a Photographer.

There. I've said it. It's out in the open. This week I had occasion to find one of my Blips from a couple of years ago and looking at it, I thought 'that's pretty good!'. So I started looking at a few more from two and three years ago and a lot of them (not all, admittedly) were better than the Blips I do now. In fact, some of my Blips are a bit like this sunflower; seen better days. So that got me to thinking why? Well, I'm more interested in the subject of my shots than the actual photograph, although I do like to get a shot which is a little different. I know you have to know all about your f-stops and ISO values etc., if you want to get a good shot but frankly, I find all that a bit dry. I like macro shots, particularly where I bring out detail that wouldn't normally be noticed, and I like trains and planes, and perhaps the odd animal, especially if they have a funny stance or look to them. But you don't see those every day, do you?

So I think what I'm really saying is that I'm suffering Blip fatigue; that pressure to get a shot every day that at least passes muster. A photographer friend of mine said that he tried a 365 project once but couldn't keep it up. Well, I've managed every day for around three years but I'm starting to think it may not be the end of the world if I miss a few. After all, a couple of Blippers I follow whose pictures I really enjoy and respect have stopped posting regularly, so if it's good enough for them, it is for me too.

I'm certainly not giving it up; but you might see less of me. But then again, being a little bit OCD, you might not. We'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.