bgleyna

By bgleyna

Purslane

I love discovering new things. This is one that Daniel introduced me to from his foraging class. It is considered by many to be a weed here as it grows just about everywhere! But in actual fact it is highly nutritious. It's the Common Purslane (Portulaca oleracea). It is the less attractive cousin of the Moss Rose (Portulaca grandiflora), which is the ornamental version with pretty multicolored flowers.
Purslane is a great source of an essential omega-3 fatty acid (ALA), which is in short supply in the typical American diet. It can help prevent heart disease, cancer and Alzheimer's! It is also high in Vit E, beta carotene, Vit C, magnesium and other nutrients! Research it!
Anyway, how do I use it? I blend it into my morning smoothies (along with my homegrown Kefir and other goodies); I use the young leaves and stems in salads (it has a crunchy, lemony taste) and best of all, it makes a great pesto by blending it with about the same amount of basil, several cloves of garlic, pine nuts (from Portugal if you can find them!) sea salt, and olive oil from a reputable source!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.