Shabby Chic?

I suppose it's all part of a trend. Quite apart from their earnest lack of humour, young people often look so poor today. Their jeans have holes in them and they seem quite threadbare. To my astonishment, I am informed that they actually PURCHASE them in that condition. Words fail. Why in my day .........(sigh) never mind.

I walked into a café this morning and all I could see were rusty, wobbly, scratched up, mismatched tables and chairs, stools and improvised seating devices of various kinds. The devil was in me at the time and so I asked the pleasant young lady (who had come over to take our orders) if the proprietor was saving up for some new furniture. For a moment she seemed not to understand my words. Then an almost imperceptible expression momentarily flashed across her face which seemed to say "silly old git",  followed by a polite (if marginally pained) explanation, "Um this is a brand new café. All the seating is brand new".

Oh. Then I spotted what appeared to be a restored petrol bowser and various other garage workshop themed artifacts about the walls. Then at long, long last I began to see the light.  You know, I probably AM a silly old git .... anyway the coffee was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.