Glen Quoich

The fourth day of orienteering was on Creag Choinnich just outside Braemar. We had early starts and the best of the weather. My start was a long way up the hill and would have been hellish in bad weather, but today was just lovely with great views to Beinn a’ Bhuird and Ben Avon as well as the central Cairngorms. It was really tough going with deep heather and as second started I had no one to help me see the controls. I had a good run, but it turned out to be my worst run of the week. We decided to go to the Linn of Dee in the afternoon and stopped in a layby to admire the view of Glen Quoich. There was an artist, Howard Butterworth, in there doing an oil painting; unrealistic colours, but quite nice nevertheless.  This is real life of the view as a shower comes down the glen; you can see Derry Cairngorm and Beinn Bhreac in the rain.

Yesterday’s blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.