Celebration

The Rower and I had an appointment at Mt. Barker which did not go to plan, so we were both rather annoyed as we drove back down the hill.

That was until I pulled into Gate 8 just on the off-chance and saw we had our brand new pedestrian gate installed.

You have NO IDEA how happy that made me.  I first requested this about 3 years ago, when the Railways closed off our access to the Park at Gate 6.  They cited health and safety issues - someone might get run over by a train.  11 trains every 24 hours, and most of them at night.  Yeah, right.  We live on the train line, and I can tell you that there is no chance you would not hear a train coming - they are freight trains and incredibly noisy.

Not the Park's fault the gate took so long - they have such a massive works list at any given time, and so few staff to get it all done, it's a miracle that it was achieved in only 3 years!!

Anyway, we wandered into the Park to christen the gate, and I chanced upon my very favourite Helmet orchids.  These are tiny things, and if you don't have your orchid eyes on, you simply don't see them.  They look like little black stones from above.

And I only had my phone which is why this image is no where near as good as it should be.

I am so happy we have this gate - I know I have a gate key and I can get pretty much where I want when I want, but this makes life so very much easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.