Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

Aaarrrrrghh

The Government cracked down on single use plastic carrier bags some time ago, charging 5p per bag with the money going to various charities. Well done.

Now I have another job for them, CRACk DOWN ON THESE DAMN THINGS. Charity plastic bags. We receive loads of the things, these 2, both for the same charity, arrived a couple of weeks apart, and all go into the bin.

I've no problem supporting the charities I wish to support but I'm getting fed up these dropping through the letter box.

Two reasons

1 - If I was to put stuff in all the bags I have received in the last couple of years I'd be walking around starkers, not a pretty sight I can assure you.

2 - Looking around the Close on collection day, I have yet to see one bag out on the doorstep, so I have to assume that all the others have gone in the bin as well. Another pile of plastic going to landfill.

I presume that some people must fillthem up and send them back, but I wouldn't mind betting that a lot more bags end up in the bin

And it's not just one charity, there are quite a few, one charity even stuck 2 bags through the door on the same day.  There are to many too often. I dread to think how many tons of plastic charity bags are dumped every year.

Rant over

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.