BJH

By BJH

Starting to feel at home

This morning Casper decided to use his toilet as a bed to relax on.

These last two days off from work were definitely necessary to observe Casper in his pen as much as possible.

Today I had to go out at some point though to buy a roll of wire fencing to stop him from attempting to escape from it. I attached the wire fencing to the bars with cable binders, which Casper has left alone so far (I hope he will continue to do so!). I only managed to cover two panels of the pen though before I ran out of cable binders so I'll have to go shopping for some more on the way home from work.

I'd initially left the pet carrier in Casper's pen so that it would be something familiar to him when he has to go in it again at some point. Unfortunately he had started to have fun jumping onto its roof and as the sides of the carrier aren't straight, I  was afraid that he might eventually fall between the side of the carrier and that of the pen and not be able to get himself free. This afternoon, I removed the carrier and replaced it with a slightly lower but much safer carboard box, which Casper has already thoroughly investigated.

Casper is definitely eating much more than Rosie what he should be eating the most of, which is hay. He's also been keeping himself busy trying to get the hay out of the two cardboard toilet rolls that I've given him. He has a lot of quiet moments, but sometimes also sudden bursts of energy and then he races around his pen at such an amazing speed that I keep waiting for him to crash into something when he does it but he hasn't yet so far.

I could watch Casper the entire day and I think he's already getting used to me because, most of the time, he doesn't run away from me but instead  he has a sniff and lets me stroke him. One thing can safely be said without any doubt. I'm going to hate leaving him behind when I have to go to work tomorrow morning!!

Many thanks for the kind comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's blip of Casper. They are very much appreciated.

My apologies yet again for my lack of comments but I hope you'll forgive if I go and spend some time with Casper before going off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.