Lost in Thought

By steveng

How many ways to spell Combrook (WIDWED230817)

I decided to take a trip through Combrook on my way to work and blip the church - but on arriving there were so many cars & vans about it wouldn't have been a particularly attractive blip ... so this is a tree in a field just outside the village.

Everyday being a school day - today's lesson was about alternative spelling through the ages.  Combrook's village road sign shows Combroke so I did a little checking and found it was one of the several versions used through time ... the others are here on the village website.

This made me feel a whole lot better about my own inability to spell.  I have a particular problem when a word has two consonants in the middle. Years ago, when I used to write site visit reports on transmitting stations, I carried a Collins gem dictionary which dealt with most of the difficulties.  Now I just press F7 and avoid the Americanisms!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.