Sony Rx10 iii Hummingbird

I went to the Agricultural Farm Park today to work some more with this rental camera.  There were lots of macro opportunities, but I really wanted to get some birds.  I was quite delighted with this shot and the shot in extra of a Mockingbird.  The camera really exceeded my expectations. The light was very good so I could use a low ISO and the birds weren't too far away, although both of these shots are cropped a bit.  I tried to get the hummingbird in flight but had a little trouble with the autofocus, and was very relieved when it landed on this wire fencing.  Both shots were taken with the telephoto fully extended to 600mm (35 mm equivalent). 

The camera isn't perfect.  I struggled a bit, but I think it will get easier with time.  I can't have back-button focusing, the autofocus is sometimes slower than I am used to.  I can't customize the shutter speed adjustment to my favorite location.  The shots get a little grainy if the ISO is too high, so probably won't be great in low light,  but all in all, for a multi purpose travel camera, I think this is a winner.  Have a look in large and also have look at the extra , and I think you will agree.   Now I just have to convince my husband that I won't be able to travel to NZ and Oz without it.  I still have it for a few more days until I send it back, so I will continue to give it a workout. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.