Akbuk calling..

Arrived just too late for sunset pics. 

This weekend heralds a ten day holiday in Turkey - a religious festival that I shall not dwell on, but also a period of jollying and seeing friends and family. School is now closed until 5th September.

Tedious "listen to me talk" for the whole faculty in the theatre that lasted an interminable two hours this morning,  our well intentioned leaders streaming information beyond saturation point; and workshops in the afternoon - I led one on art journaling for students. Then I escaped with Koray who took me to the airport, where I found both computer and phone batteries were dead so fretted about whether or not I would be met at Bodrum airport - but, my lucky star must be in the ascendent and 'ere long, here I am in Fevzi Pasa, Akbuk, for the week. 

Those who know about the Akbuk space time continuum that I have mentioned before, albeit not recently, will not be surprised to know that I walked in to my flat at 20.20 and several hours later, looked at the clock to discover it was only 21.00.   Akbuk gives great value for money.

I must write about what else is on my mind.  Harry had an "incident" yesterday when visiting workmen left my front door open and he escaped from the apartment only to plough through some extremely powerful glue they are using to lay new lino in the hallway and staircase. As a result, his paws, when I came home after work, were caked in glue, muck, carpet fibres and cat litter crystals - he was clearly distressed and it took all evening to get most of it off.  This morning I started cutting out the clumped and blackened fur between his toes.  Little sweetheart let me do this for nearly an hour before finally getting skittish about it.  Added to his already miserable state as he clearly misses Elizabeth, I'm not surprised he slept in my arms all night, and now I am worried about him - feeling guilty for leaving him to the care of others for a week. I know my friends will look after him, but ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.