Memories of Galicia

Driving along the Slug Road on the way to a meeting in Stonehaven today, I suddenly recalled that it was exactly two years and one month since I took my first ever blip - the basement of a house under construction at the summit with a view northward over Deeside and Donside.

It was obviously somebody's 'dream house' back then, but dream it has remained, no building work having been undertaken since that time.

Every time I pass it nowadays, it reminds me of a road trip we made across Galicia back in 2001, when having reached our initial destination - the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela - we headed on to the Atlantic coast, staying overnight in the Hotel O Semaforo beside the lighthouse at Cape Finisterre. The landscape we crossed there was peppered with people's rustic 'dream houses' that had been abandoned with just the frames of a single storey in place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.