RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Rear Window

I have officially embraced the Mexican way let me explain why. The two halves of the rear window bracket on our Mercury Mountaineer has been in need of replacement for the past half dozen years. It, however, continued to work until about two months ago when the two pieces totally separated. As long as we didn't open the window things stayed in place okay, but it was only a matter of time until we forgot it was broken, hit the button and had the window go crashing to the ground. I did my best to order the part at the neighborhood AutoZone, but the special order dude never called me back so I assume no part ever arrived. I was resigned to waiting until our trip to the States where I could order it online and pick it up at an AutoZone. It seemed though as if the window was still slipping and our U.S.A. trip is still three weeks away. While at the mechanic today I asked him if he might be able to repair the broken bracket. No problem he said. The result is shown above (with a perfect bracket on the right for comparison purposes). I expect this repair will outlast our vehicle and was considerably less expensive, and very much more Mexican, than ordering a new part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.