Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

An angel in abstract

Abstract has a couple of definitions in the dictionary... as a verb..1. consider in general terms, 2. take away or steal, 3. reduce to a summary, epitomize (which means the ideal example?) ..such as "I abstracted this information after reading the dictionary!"  Or as an adjective 1. inattentive or preoccupied  "I am trying an abstract reason for this photo."   Maybe that does not work.     Or as a noun...  1. summary or inventory 2. the essential aspects of a subject such as "this is an abstract photo of an angel wind chime. "   AHA..the light bulb clicked on.  The essential aspects.   Maybe

I love taking abstract photos.  I usually try to make the abstract happen in the camera by using intentional camera movement, getting really close to the subject so that only a color or other visual design element happens.  There are other ways including changing up the photo in post editing.      Then  we have abstract art...art that does not attempt to represent external reality, but seeks to achieve its effect using shapes, forms, colors, and textures.

Trying to get abstract photos takes me WAY outside my normal box of photo tricks but I really like trying and then getting one photo that I am happy with sharing.   

In the past I have taken an online photo class with Kim Manley Ort which is called Going Abstract.   Kim has great resources and has a way of getting the information across in a very easy to understand way.   She is offering the course again starting Sept 6.  The cost is very reasonable for a month of lessons 3 times a week.     If you are interested in learning more about taking abstract photos or making abstract art instead of using editing tools or if you want to just stretch your photo taking knowledge or bag of tricks,  I highly recommend the course.   This will be my third time taking the course and each time Kim adds new information, resources or lessons.     Check it out on her website,   Going Abstract.

After Sept 6 expect to see more abstracts than normal.    Maybe...depending on if they are keepers or not.

By the way, this photo is straight out of the camera.   I like it because it just barely gives the impression of the angel and the movement caused by the wind.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.