Work, then on to the tip with a few old things from Dad's spare room. Then to collect his ashes from the undertaker. A bit weird, the urn came in a velvet drawstring bag, which the lady took quite a while doing it up tightly, it was a bit like Mr Bean in Love Actually. I joked that I did not think he would try to escape, but she did not smile when I said although he was Harry, he wasn't Houdini. We took him for a drive, to the solicitors, and then back to his house. Keith did some phoning to change the utilities. I sorted more paper work.
Two more estate agents came to do probate valuations, and give their opinions. quite diverse amounts of money quoted. My head is spinning as to what we should do as the house will become Mum's, but we have Power of attorney, and need to make sure that Mum's care home fees can be paid, for how ever long she lives, the hard truth. The sadness of dementia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.