I've been wanting to visit Cobham Wood and Mausoleum ever since discovering it was only a few miles away from Mum's flat. However it only opens a couple of Sundays a month, which hardy ever coincided with my visits.  So spotting it was open today, Mum and headed over there after coffee.

The 1mile route to the Mausoleum (extra) was clearly beyond Mum's capabilities, so I left her with at the visitors centre, where she was  delighted to discover she could listen to the cricket on her iPad, and was apparently  well looked after by the friendly volunteers!

The Mausoleum itself has an interesting history. It was built for the 3rd Earl of Darnley, a descendent of Henry Darnley, the father of James VI of Scotland / James 1st of England.  The Darnley family vault in Westminster Abbey was full, so he left instructions in his will for the building, however it was never consecrated, and the crypt today is eerily empty.

I had a lovely time wandering round the site and talking to the guides. Venturing into the woods I came across the subject of my blip, with a companion. - apparently he has some 38 other comrades, but they were well hidden!

Back at the visitors centre I spotted some of Kent's iconic exports, the Kentish Cobbnut, a type of hazelnut - which completes my trio of blips today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.