Back Blip - Costa Azzurra

A great way to spend the day on a couple small boats with friends.

The kids had a great time.  Mrs C suffered through the day with seasickness, but never once asked to be taken back.  I had fun scavenging all sorts of things I found both on the sea bed and floating on top... a homemade anchor (or large shark tackle - but there are no sharks), a plastic spring clamp, oyster shells from some fashionable yacht party, a pillow float and a kid's beach ball.  When I pulled the anchor up onto the boat a small octopus jumped out which I hadn't seen.  Roberto spotted a bigger one scavenging around a sandy flat later which was fun to follow for several minutes.  I wanted to touch him, but the water was a bit too deep and I was still about an arms reach with too much pressure on my ears.

After days of trying to convince Mr JC to relax in the swimming pool, today he broke all expectations by first accepting to get in the water and then deciding he really liked it and offering to come in at every stop we made!  (water wings and noodle float)  I used the snorkeling fins and took him all around the boats several times. 

Mr JC and I had abandoned everyone else in our smaller bouncing boat for the last leg of the trip and we had a gas bouncing the boat around and pegging the throttle as much as we could.  At three years old and sitting on my lap, he was just strong enough to mash the throttle lever and then let out some curdling yoops (goded on by dad?)  Good father-son day...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.