The DJ also dances

Alice: I hear you have a much better chance of getting in if you come by cab.
Charlotte: You're really worried about getting in?
Alice: Yes.
Charlotte: I thought you've been here several times before.
Alice: Not the front way. They were private parties. We came in through the back.

The fireside starts busy, but people drift away. The dance floor gets loud and busy. The age demographic shifts and plummets. By two, there's a handful of survivors dancing away to Angus' tunes, but my time is done.

Sunday is a smear of bleary chatter and comfort food. People drift away, by car since there is no bus service today. Rubbish is bagged, bottles boxed, dishes washed. Megan goes to the gym!

Later, I collect Megan from Penicuik and take Tony to the airport. Angus is moving to Cheryl's, but he's suffering and wants a quick nap before going. While he sleeps in the car, Megan and I slip into the Omni centre and watch Detroit. Grim stuff.

Back home, I extinguish all lights and sit outside in the warm, darkness sipping whisky. The Film Programme burbles on the radio as another day contracts toward its apogee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.