Tutbury Castle

It's pretty well a ruin, but a famous one. It was where Mary Queen of Scots was a prisoner when she got involved in the plot that was to lead to her demise. It's said to be haunted. I've intended to go for many a year but just not got round to it.

Today I set off to find the kingfishers at Drakelow Nature Reserve. I'd done my research so I was not prepared to see a padlocked high security gate and nobody around. No way in. Clearly closed in spite of the website announcement that it's open during the hours of daylight.

Plan B. Tutbury Castle. My heart sank as I noticed big signs saying "Event Parking". Yes. Bad news. They were hosting a Fairy and Princess Children's event. The kindly car park man said I could still go into the castle "but it would cost more." That wasn't the problem - it was the massive queue all round the field. He let me take a couple of photos before negotiating my way back through the queue of cars.

The best laid plans etc.......

I wonder if that was what Mary Queen of Scots thought.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.