Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hall of Honour, German Cemetery, Cannock Chase

I'd gone out to take a sunrise, but found myself at the German Military Cemetery on Cannock Chase.  In the centre of the Hall of Honour is a bronze sculpture of the fallen warrior, created by Hans Wimmer.  

The sunlight was streaming through one of three openings in the walls of the hall.  I'd hoped it might illuminate the stature, but the height of the opening and neighbouring belt of trees probably means that this doesn't happen (anymore?).

I met a young family from Germany who had 'camped' near the cemetery overnight.  I say camped, but they used a roof tent on the estate car and it was surprising to see two parents and then three young children decamp fromm the tent.  It certainly got me thinking!  As ever the parents spoke faultless English.  They'd spent the last three weeks working around the coasts of Scotland, including the Outer Hebrides.  They were very impressed with the landscape, particularly north of the Great Glen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.