SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Walking the Line 5

Continuing my walking the Line series that starts here...
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2340971843491463979

Mountains and Mohammed come to mind. As, when I was last here, the road across the dam wall is still closed, so today I decided to climb up Raven Crag so that I could blip it from above.

One of the reasons Thirlmere was decided on as the valley of choice to flood was because it offered the opportunity of a remarkably short dam to hold back such a vast body of water.

I don't think it has ever occurred to me before that it seems 'odd' that the water goes the opposite way. In other words, it doesn't get piped down from here, as it would with any other dam I can think of, it gets piped 'up' over Dunmail Raise to head south to Manchester.... and yet it it is all done by gravity.
You've got to hand it to those Victorians.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.