Revived

We had rain all day yesterday. In the afternoon one of my neighbours arrived with a wet cold lamb (more dead than alive) and asked me to look after it - he has no patience with lambs. One of his young ewes had just had twins and rejected this lamb. I dried it and tucked it up with a hot water bottle in a box by the fire.  The little thing was too weak to suck but must have swallowed some milk because when I checked at 3 a.m. it had perked up and was standing. It had more milk then and another drink at 7 a.m. and I'm more optimistic about it.  If it continues to make progress it will go to the neighbour's tenants who have three children.
Extra photo: A view of my house taken from down the road when Bella and I were out walking this morning. The big flowering tree to the right of the house is a magnolia and a camellia is there too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.