Hirundography

By Hirundo

Bicycles Of Old York

Tilt shift...

The way "old" Brooks saddles are attached to the seat post means that if not properly tightened, they can tilt shift in a most uncomfortable way.

I love how companies almost reinvent themselves as "Heritage" (capitalise that). Brooks have been making leather bike saddles since the early 1920s. However, in the late 60s and early 70s they had a penchant for producing "comfortable" plastic versions like this. I had one on my first Raleigh "roadster".

Nevertheless, I love the traditional "proper" Brooks saddles. I have two; firstly, a workaday B66 on my Pashley and then a cherished limited edition B17 with copper rivets and brass rails. That gets gets swapped from road bike to mountain bike (currently on latter while the Pashley is in dry dock).

Tilt shift; all this talk of kit - I'm beginning to sound like a photographer...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.