TinyTuesday 118: Is He OK?

I very seldom blip a photo that wasn't posted on the day it was taken, in fact almost never. But...I'm making an exception in this case. Sunday late afternoon we had a bit of a storm blow through and afterward I noticed some tree 'debris' on the back patio. I did nothing about it for a couple of hours since, after all, in our yard tree debris is a very common occurrence. When I did get around to moving it, just before dark, it squeaked at me! Three baby squirrels had ridden their nest as it fell from probably 40-50ft up in a pine tree, hit the edge of our roof and landed on the patio. One was in bad shape and later passed on to squirrel heaven, but the other two looked ok. Ok? So what do I know of 'ok' when it comes to baby squirrels? I brought them in and made a soft nest for them with a small animal warmer underneath because I read that they loose their body warmth rapidly and will go into shock and die. I called our local Wildlife Rescue/Rehab center and left a message explaining things. I didn't expect them to be alive Monday morning but there they were, all pink and too, too cute. 

I spent three hours playing a recording of baby squirrel cries and hoping that mom would show up to claim them. Sadly, she didn't. Then I got a text from the center's director and to make a long story shorter...I ended up taking the little sweeties to a woman who is a licensed WildlifeRehab person and lives about 2 miles from me. She was already taking care of 11 other baby squirrels and said, "what's two more mouths to feed?". Those babies need to be fed every 2-3 hours for approx 8 weeks!. She said that theses two were about two weeks old and looked in good shape considering what they had gone through.

This is a photo of Tara being very concerned about the babies. Maica was a bit 'too' concerned and was not allowed up to sniff them. 

So this sad story had a happy ending. And do take a look at my *extras*...baby squirrels are just adorable!

Thanks so much for hosting TT Osuzanna!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.