Eurasian collared dove (Streptopelia decaocto)

Got a call this morning to say a Kingfisher had been spotted at the Montrose Nature Reserve, so tootled off down there full of excitement.  The observation room was full of people  -  most had received the same call as I had.  Stayed for a coupe of hours but no appearance.  Whiled my time away taking a few shots of this Collared Dove  -  there were three together but none of the group shots were properly in focus.  They first appeared in the UK in the 1950s, and this is the first Collared Dove I have ever photographed so, of course, it had to be my blip of the day  -  and, anyway, the elusive Kingfisher never appeared.  I gave up on the Kingfisher and went down to the Hide.  Lots of Herons around, but mostly hidden by rushes  -  see the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.