Sign up for your life

Ah, I love Portillos.

There's a game I've always played ever since I was a little kid. I make bets with myself.

For example, if I'm on the fence about doing something, I let chance decide for me. I'd idly put my hand in my coat pocket and discover some coins. Before my hand could make out which coin was which, I'd tell myself, "If there's a penny in my pocket, I will get my butt out of the house and go to so-and-so's party."

When I'm scared, nervous, or stressed, I assure myself by making a bet. For example, a few years ago, I was riding the orange line to Midway. Of course, thanks to CTA's stellar service, the train stopped between stations and just sat there without explanation. After waiting ten minutes, I was fidgeting in my seat and glancing at the time. I was convinced I would miss my flight to Vegas, but I tried to think positive. About ten minutes later, the train started to move and I told myself, "When we get to the next station, if the first person to walk through the door is a tall lanky man, I will make my flight."

Well, we pulled into the next station and the first person to walk through the door was indeed a tall lanky man. I immediately calmed down and I did make my flight -- with only a few minutes to spare.

It's little games like this that makes life interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.