Carol's beautiful funeral

Carol was my dear friend Emma's darling Mum, I only met her a few times, she was warm and funny and very sweet. Emma and I see a lot of each other and have supported each other so much through our Mum's respective illnesses and deaths. It's such a sad time in our lives.
Emma is the youngest of 5 daughters who all have children and there is one great grandson also, it was a big gathering. Our mutual friends Sophie and Suzanne picked me up, it was lovely seeing them again even bought it was a sad occasion, the other lady in the photo is Aimee, all our kids were at primary school together which is how we met.
The service was beautiful and I cried throughout, emma's daughter Zoe read a wonderful tribute including a poem and the celebrant gave a vivid account of Carols life and read some lovely poems too.
The final music was George Harrison's my sweet lord which was so lovely.
The crematorium gardens were vast and very pretty.
Afterwards we went to Surbiton golf course for a buffet. We were all very glad to have been there to support Emma who does so much to help and support all of us.
I felt exhausted when I got home partly because I hadn't slept but also because my own Mother's funeral was only in mid June and it's all very raw still.
I had a sleep.
Been doing lots of laundry and sorting out as we ar off to Spain tomorrow to visit Max's Dad and his wife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.