Purple loosestrife weevil

I had a great day today out on one of my favourite pieces of heathland at Iping common. When i first started photography I thought heathland was very boring compared to the species rich chalk grassland and ancient woodland I had been enjoying, but I really couldn't have been more wrong!  Although the obvious number of plant species is far less, those which grow there are so interesting such as the insectivorous Sundew I blipped a few weeks ago and the number of interesting insect and spider species is actually staggering. 
This tiny 1.5 - 2mm weevil Nanophyes marmoratus, is known as the Loosestrife weevil as it feeds exclusively on Purple loosestrife  Lythrum salicaria, and is quite common here in the south and is not a heathland specific species. It is one of the tiny species of weevil easily identified in the field which is always a bonus, due to it's colourful markings. 
I also found two quite different and colorful caterpillars which I have put in my dwindling extras. The first (green one with splendid white 'tails') is I believe a Speckled wood butterfly  Pararge aegeria, a common butterfly I see often, but whose grass feeding larva I have never seen before. The second is the colorful  punk of the moth larvae the Sycamore moth Acronicta aceris always a great find in my opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.