Salvage

A day off work, down helping out down at the harbour. Three of us checked out a few boats and then managed to get two boats, including the one on the beach, back to the pontoon. Having done the good club things, it was time to turn my mind to my own boat which had come to rest, almost unscathed, perilously close to a motor boat with large outboard. Just the sort of thing to gouge my hull. Aye, my bulwarks. Or even the gunwales.
John from Sula (it's the way we know each other, no surnames) gave me a hand and we got it over to the pontoon, so now I'm much happier.
No such relief for the four boat owners whose boats are still on the rocks. The ground above them appears unsuitable for a crane. A floating crane may have to be sourced from somewhere if anything at all is to be salvaged.
Oh well ... Wednesday night beckons. What tales I can tell. This should get them snoring!

[photo: the club boat bringing Keil's boat over to the pontoon. He'd dragged as well, and had been biffed and damaged by a passing boat. A bigger boat with blue paint he reckoned. Ahem]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.