Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Again?

Yep, another hummingbird.  Time is running short and I am trying to store up as much hummie-love as I can before they are all gone for the year.  I chose this photo because it shows the extreme dexterity of these tiny creatures.  No bigger than my thumb, but able to fly up, down, forwards, backwards...and change direction on a dime, as seen here.

I released 5 butterflies today.  Three emerged yesterday and stayed inside where it was warm and dry overnight.  I took them out to the garden once it warmed up a bit and we sat and had tea.  Well, I had tea.  They just sat, occasionally shivering their wings to warm up and eventually lifting gracefully into the air.  They flew for Rachel, Clara and Davey.  Later in the morning, two more beautiful males emerged and both were released this afternoon - one for Johnny and one for my grandfather, James Walsh.

I have many, many more butterflies to release and I'd like to send each one on it's way in someone's memory, so let me know if there is someone you'd like honored in this way.

Hubs is home and I'm going to go spend some time with him now.  Thanks for stopping by!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.