Into the arena

Today I gave my two lectures and lab session at the PhD course. Things started badly when I missed the bus to the University so took Google's next suggestion, forgetting to cross the road to get it in the right direction! I only realised when we crossed the Mosel, and I got back to the hotel just as my lecture was due to start. Fortunately I was in reach of the hotel's WiFi so could email a warning. However, once I started my lecture 30 minutes late, the day went better than I'd hoped. I had questions from students after my talks and the organisers complemented me. Student feedback in the lab was good, and the organisers also reported that they'd enjoyed it. So I felt OK about accepting the 400 Euro honorarium for my participation.

After leaving the University, I stopped off at the Roman amphitheatre to take in my sixth UNESCO World Heritage site of the week - and there are still another three to see in Trier! It was a good place to just wander and unwind. There was a nice moment just before I left when I met one of the students from the course and, after we'd chatted for a few minutes, she took a photo of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.