Moon

Today's the day ........................ to wax lyrical

The moon today is in a Waxing Gibbous  phase.

This phase is when the moon is more than 50% illuminated but not yet a Full Moon. The phase lasts round 7 days with the moon becoming more illuminated each day until the Full Moon. During a Waxing Gibbous  the moon will rise in the east in mid-afternoon and will be high in the eastern sky at sunset. The moon is then visible though most of the night sky setting a few hour before sunrise. The word Gibbous  first appeared in the 14th century and has its roots in the Latin word gibbosus  meaning humpbacked.

Not a lot of people know this - including me.  I found out about it here.  But I did notice that its shape was a bit odd tonight and I did take the picture myself ...........................!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.