Plus ça change...

By SooB

Autumn

Very autumnal today.  I flung open the windows this morning and let the fabulously cool air flood in.  Obviously, about an hour later I was disgruntled that I couldn't hang out the first of three planned loads of washing due to the pounding rain... but that's small fair compared to the joy of being able to exist without melting.

I launched the day with a housework blitz.  The kids pulled their usual puzzled "Are we expecting someone?" line, but that's fair enough - and the main reason the house is in such a state is that I've been busy but without the impetus of guests to make me stop ignoring the tidying and the dusting.  But still, I was dragged back to the desk soon enough for some fast work. 

Later, CarbBoy to his orthophoniste, then to basketball, and a delightful tin of beans and sausages for tea!*  We're such classy folk.

The grapevine seems to be reflecting the autumn weather.  I'm still trying to figure out the best moment to harvest the grapes.  I reckon when I see the wasps start going for them will be my moment.

*For me and TallGirl.  CarbBoy opted for a fried egg sandwiched in a muffin. Like I say, classy.  The only saving grace is he looked mystified when I made a joke about Egg Mcmuffins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.