October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The Nordic Walt Disney

Kaj Pindal is the most famous person I know. He is sometimes named The Nordic Walt Disney as he is a Dane who went to Canada and became famous.
So how on Earth did I meet this great man? I was working on my largest project (until then) in 1988 which was 22 min. of animation sowing volcanic outbursts, earthquakes and such for a TV series called "Living wit violent Earth". I had just joined Nordic Light, the Nordic arm of ASIFA (look it up!) and had met Conny Marnelius who was building computerized rostrum camera stands for animation. I contacted him and asked if he knew someone that would let me rent one... and Conny sent me to Carlos Canel in Canel Productions in Täby, Sweden.
Carlos, on the left, and his wife Jane had studied animation with Kaj in Canada; Kaj's daughter was working with Carlos and Kaj came to visit on his way to take a trip on a train on it's last ride.
One evening Carlos and family vent to listen to his daughter playing in a band - I was working (lower left) and Kaj came to visit. He didn't know I was alone and he wanted to help me - instead I made coffee and we talked for hours - or until Carlos and family came home.

In 1990 Nordic Light festival was in Eksjö in Sweden. Animaters from the Nordic countries and the Baltic countries sat on the veranda of the hotel, drinking beer and whispering that Kaj would address the festival.
When Kaj arrived he stepped up to us at the veranda, said hello to left and right - then he saw me and greeted me like an old friend.
This was the greatest momnet of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.