m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

Chester New Bridge #2

I went for a cycle around at lunchtime to see the aftermath from the storm. The riverside park at Chester-le-street had broken its banks and flooded the burn and nearby houses, many of them still had sandbags in their doorways. Some of the bridges I used to cycle across were almost completely covered with water. I did take some shots but it was difficult getting close as the majority of it was cordoned off. I could see workmen in the distance beginning the huge cleanup operation. The devastation and destruction this three day storm has caused is unbelievable. My heart goes out to all the families who've had their properties destroyed. I can't even begin to imagine what they must be going through.

For the most part of the day it's been grey and overcast but there were a few short bursts of sunshine now and again. I chose this shot of Chester New Bridge for a few reasons. The first to show you the decorative side view and the second to show you exactly how high the River Wear has risen. Take a look at this link if you want to compare.

I did contemplate uploading the colour version but I thought the mono version had more impact.

I'm looking forward to the third instalment of the all new Dallas series this evening :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.